Monday, June 27, 2022
12.4 C
HomeCommunityArtsSunshine Coast Art Prize 2021 finalists announced

Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2021 finalists announced

Hundreds of entries poured in from every state across Australia for the prestigious 2021 Sunshine Coast Art Prize.

The 40 finalists were selected from 425 submissions across a range of genres including painting, drawing, photography, printing, textiles and assemblage.

Arts Portfolio Councillor Rick Baberowski said the Sunshine Coast Art Prize was an increasingly important regional showcase event and motivational art award.

“The calibre of entries continues to be impressive, full of embedded meaning and drama and each year the artworks bring a new perspective on what’s happening,” Cr Baberowski said.

“We continue to attract an ever expanding and extensive range of entries from both well-known and emerging artists—it’s genuinely exciting that 2D practice across Australia is thriving.”

Finalist works are available to view online now at

The Sunshine Coast Art Prize exhibition of all 40 finalists will be on display at the Caloundra Regional Gallery from 27 August to 10 October, 2021.

The lucrative prizes will be awarded to the winning artists at The Winners’ Announcement gala event on 23 September, 2021.

Gallery Director Jo Duke said the judged category winners would be selected by Renai Grace, Director/CEO of the Museum of Brisbane, who has more than 25 years’ experience in the arts and cultural sector.

“The standard of finalist works in this year’s exhibition is remarkable. We are delighted to have Renai joining as guest judge, bringing her expertise to the challenging task of choosing this year’s Sunshine Coast Art Prize winners,” Ms Duke said.

“There are six Sunshine Coast locals in the finalist selection, which demonstrates the creative talent we have right here in our region.”

The major prize winner will receive $25,000 cash, sponsored by Argon Law Sunshine Coast and Sunshine Coast Council, with the winning artwork acquired into the Sunshine Coast Art Collection.

Exhibition visitors are invited to vote for their favourite work to select the People’s Choice Prize winner, which is awarded to the artwork which receives the most votes.

The prize offers a range of award opportunities for finalists:

  • Major prize – $25,000 acquisitive prize sponsored by Argon Law Sunshine Coast and Sunshine Coast Council.
  • Highly Commended prize – $5000 sponsored by the De Deyne Family.
  • People’s Choice prize – $2500 sponsored by Caloundra Chamber of Commerce.
  • Artist Residency award – sponsored by Montville Country Cabins.
  • Artwork selection for the BMW art car and art bike – supported by Coastline BMW. 
  • Artwork transport – supported by International Art Services (IAS).

Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2021 local finalists:

  • Miles Allen                  Flaxton
  • David Green               Buderim
  • Jennifer Herd              Eumundi
  • Peter Hudson              Maleny
  • Trevor Purvis              Cooroy
  • Amanda Shadforth     Alexandra Headland

All Sunshine Coast Art Prize 2021 finalists


Miles Allen
Karike Ashworth
Ashlee Becks
Anna Carey 
Joanne Currie Nalingu
Simon Degroot
Michael Eather
David Green
Tay Haggarty
Andy Harwood
Jennifer Herd
Samantha Hobson
Peter Hudson
Agnes Kohler
Kimberley Marston
Kahli Perkins
Trevor Purvis
Monica  Rohan
Sandra  Selig
Amanda Shadforth
Cara-Ann Simpson
Melissa Spratt


Peter Berner
Yvonne Boag
Gerwyn Davies
Timothy Gregory
Adam Norton
Pamela Pauline
Emily Portmann
Marian Tubbs
Christopher Zanko


Michelle Pula Holmes


Renee Broders
Emma Coulter
Nick Heynsbergh
Franky Howell
Susan Knight
Wayne Milner
Bundit Puangthong


Brian Robinson

What's new

Follow us


Related Articles